top of page

How to wear the off-the-shoulder trend like a pro


From head to toe: Wonderland sunglasses, Yves Saint Laurent Lipstick (1 - Le Rouge), Zara off-the-shoulder top, JCrew jeans, JCrew bracelet, Kenneth Cole wedges, Kate Spade messenger bag.

It's been a while since my last blog post! Please forgive the brief hiatus – I’ve been taking this time to brush up on my blogging skills, redesign parts of Beauty is a State of Mind (let me know your thoughts on the new background and homepage!), and finally take a much-needed vacation. After spending a month in Italy with my boyfriend (travel posts are on their way!), I’m refreshed and ready to celebrate the beauty of mental health here on the blog once again.

Some of the things I’m finding particularly beautiful this spring are the longer days and warmer weather, the smell of fresh tulips like the beauties captured in this post, and the chic 70s off-the-shoulder trend.

I knew I had to have this baby blue pinstripe off-the-shoulder blouse the second I saw it at Zara a couple weeks back. The look is so summery and feminine, and undeniably on-trend right now.

Still, the thing with trends is that we need to spend a little time figuring out how they look best on us, and how we can tailor them to our own personal styles, before we fully embrace them.

For this particular look, I knew I wanted to capitalize on the summertime vibes of this past long weekend and play up a nautical theme. I added my gold chain link bracelet, a classic red lip, and my favourite wedges to do just that. I then made the look a little more city-appropriate with a pair of toothpick jeans and a low ponytail.

However you choose to make the off-the-shoulder trend your own, here are three things you can do to make sure you’re rocking the trend like a pro:

1. Choose the right bra. The importance of selecting the right undergarments cannot be overstated when dressing as a woman, but this is especially the case when embracing the off-the-shoulder trend. Strapless bras vary vastly in terms of support, comfort, and emphasis. Steer clear of push-up bras when opting for an off-the-shoulder look, as this season’s 70s variation of the trend gains its appeal from the exposed collarbone and upper back, rather than plunging cleavage. For smaller-chested women, a lace bandeau should do the trick (some women may even find they can go braless with this look). For larger-chested ladies like myself, this bra from Marks and Spencer offers both structural support and comfort without detracting from the soft appearance of flowy OTS tops and dresses.

2. If between sizes, opt for the smaller size. In most cases, I would suggest those straddling sizes choose the size up, rather than the size down, for comfort’s sake. In this case, you want to opt for the smaller size, so that the top, dress, or romper stays up, and you don’t need to spend all of your time yanking up the fabric to keep yourself covered.

3. Always wear sunscreen. This should be a routine measure in the summer months, but its crucial when fashioning the OTS trend, as you don’t want to be rocking a bizarre version of the farmer’s tan after fashioning your favourite new dress or blouse. Unless, of course, you’re into darker shoulders and forearms, and pale upper arms..

How are you styling this season’s off-the-shoulder trend? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, or message me directly!

 RECENT POSTS: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page