top of page

Happy One Year to the Blog!


This past year of blogging has flown by. Before launching Beauty is a State of Mind in March 2015, I had slowly been working on the design of the site, and writing a few introductory posts. I had purchased this web domain in the summer of 2014, but it took me a long time to muster up the courage to tell my story publically, despite the limited reach I knew my blog would have, at least in the beginning.

After months of sitting on my very first post, I decided to take the plunge and post my thoughts and feelings online. I've now been telling my story here for one year, and the thing that has touched me the most thus far, is how open others have been with me in response to the blog. Friends, acquaintances, and even strangers, have messaged me, called me, and told me in person, how they have related to, and appreciated the words on this blog; many have even opened up to me about their own struggles with mental health.

It is true that openness breeds openness, and closing yourself off only exacerbates the pain you may be experiencing. As alienating as mental illness can be, however, sharing your thoughts and feelings with someone, and telling them, honestly, how you feel, is a sure way to connect, and connectedness is truly a healing power. Thank you for connecting with me this past year, and for helping to make blogging such a positive experience for me.

In celebration of the blog’s first anniversary, below are a few of my favourite posts from this past year. Here's to connecting for years to come.


 RECENT POSTS: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page