top of page

5 Spring Trends I Can't Wait to Wear


Looking forward to sunny spring weather in Joe Fresh sunglasses and a Forever21 t-shirt, with a Kate Spade messanger bag

Spring isn’t exactly right around the corner, but I’m counting the days until I can wear some of the coming season’s trends, including fun prints, kimono dresses and a modern take on the classic trench. Here are five spring trends that have me hoping that groundhog doesn’t see his shadow on Tuesday.

Printed Bomber Jacket

I stumbled across this piece while walking by Banana Republic last week and it lured me into the store immediately. I love the intricate print and the splashes of colour, but I also love the light silk fabric the jacket is made of, and the tailored details at the waist and sleeves. I think we’ll be seeing a lot of intricate prints next season and this jacket is an excellent example of the colourful patterns that lie ahead for our wardrobes.

Classic Short-Sleeve Shift Dresses

I’m a fan of looser silhouettes that are still fitted and flattering, so I love a classic shift dress with loose, short sleeves. I’ve been seeing a lot of these in stores’ spring line-ups and Forever21 has two adorable options – one in light grey and another in crisp white. These dresses keep with winter's higher neckline trend, but have much less fabric, making the look spring-appropriate.

Kimono Dress

Keeping with the theme of intricate prints, the kimono dress is an upcoming trend that I love love love. It doesn’t accentuate one’s curves quite as much as a wrap dress, but still offers a very flattering shape, and the detailed exotic prints on the silk fabric make it a fun alternative to the classic LBD when you’re headed out for after-work drinks. This Gucci option comes at a pretty penny, but it's a great source of inspiration for the season ahead.

Lightweight Silk Trench

I’ve always loved the timeless sophistication of a trench coat, but I’m a huge fan of this season’s take on the traditional trench – a lightweight, silky jacket with a little more movement than your Burberry best. American Apparel has these fabulous coats in a range of colours, and I can’t wait to take the navy one across the pond with me in March!

Clutches and Evening Bags in Light Shades

I always gravitate towards light or pastel clutches, but hesitate to buy them knowing I’ll never use them in the winter months, when all I grab is one black purse after another. But spring is an opportunity for bright accessories, and although this option from Clare Vivier/Anthropologie is technically void of colour, I think it encapsulates spring weather and sunny vibes nonetheless. Plus, I love the Ying and Yang theme going on here.

 RECENT POSTS: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page